The Clock

I do not look for the clock anymore
The pendulum swings no more
I have stopped wearing a watch, five years or more
My phone is now my watch and the clock on the wall
My scheduler and timekeeper all
Of birthdays and anniversaries, reminders and tasklists
Meetings and conference calls, enabling timely attendance
And of time, an all day awareness,
Frequent glances to escape the moment
The attraction of distractions,
Chase of a scent, click by click, event by event.
Enticement of aimless wandering
The lure of an endless exploring
An illusion of value, a blackhole of availability.
The curse of Heisenberg
Digging into its measured.
The web is for the trapped.
The day quietly logged out.

4 responses to “The Clock

  1. Yes, I get it. Many nights when my mind is racing, I look to the web and easily get lost and distracted, losing focus of what my main intention was.
    Very nice writing. You should put all of your work into a book, like poetic glances into your life and mind.

  2. “Enticement of aimless wandering” .. That is precisely what keeps me awake beyond my sleeping hours. Another artfully crafted piece. You are truly talented.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.